Oak Journalism wins at TAJE


Angel James

Yearbook and Newspaper staffs proudly present their awards at the end of the Fall Fiesta TAJE State convention.

Oak Yearbook and Newspaper students competed in a multitude of mini contests on the afternoon of Oct. 19 in downtown San Antonio at the Texas Association of Journalism Educators (TAJE) Contest. Not only did the student walk away with several personal awards, Klein Oak placed 5th overall in the state for sweepstakes.


Yearbook Theme Package – 2nd place to Julia Mickelson and Sydney Gorski 

News Writing – 2nd place to Alessandra Esquivel

Feature Photo – 3rd place to Caitlin Campbell and 2nd Place to Jacob McCready and Ben Stewart

First Year Photo – 2nd place to Kailey Sledge

Portrait Photo – 2nd place to Jacob McCready

Sports Action – 1st place to Daniel Alvarez, 2nd place to Ben Stewart and 3rd place to Jacob McCready

Sports Reaction – 1st place Daniel Alvarez and 2nd place to Ben Stewart

On-Site Cell Phone Photography Spice – 1st place to Ashelyn Phelan, Chelsea Palumbo and Gabby Linden

On-site Black and White Photography- 3rd place to Kendall Green

On-site Portrait Photography – 3rd place to Maddie Phelan